CARROLLTON, Ga. - For the first time in the six-year history of the WESTPY Awards, the University of West Georgia Athletic Department hosted the awards ceremony with all athletes in attendance, and more than 300 UWG athletes attended this year's ceremony on Thursday, April 25 at the Townsend Center for the Performing Arts. 

Directing the night from the stage were three emcees, led by the nearly 40-year Voice of the Wolves Mitch Gray. Joining Gray onstage were seniors Aren Ulmer (basketball) and Dan Benson (golf). 

Cade Marlowe and Fran Breem took home top honors at this year's awards ceremony as the pair were named Mr. Wolf and Miss Wolf, presented by Papa-John's for their contributions to their teams, the community, and the classroom. For Marlowe, his award was his second consecutive Mr. Wolf award, as he also won that title as a junior in 2018. Bremm has been the Women's Athlete of the Year in nearly every year that she has been at West Georgia, but this is her first Miss Wolf award. Marlowe was a multi-winner this year, also claiming the trophy for Men's Scholar-Athlete of the Year. 

UWG Athletics also brought back a popular award this year, honoring two athletes with the Strength of the Pack Award, presented by the Georgia Army National Guard. The Strength of the Pack Award at the WESTPYs originated in the 2017 season as the university honored Angela Egwu for her courage and bravery in her selfless act to help save a man’s life at a football game. This year, we looked to the effort and willpower in the weight room for the nominees for this year, and Sergeant Tyler Vanlandingham from the Georgia Army National Guard presented the Women's Strength of the Pack to Jazmine Santiago and the Men's Strength of the Pack honor to Korie Rogers.

The basketball program swept Athlete of the Year honors, as Marquill Smith was named Men's Athlete of the Year and Aysha Harris was honored as the Women's Athlete of the Year. In the Career Achievement category, Devontae Jackson of the football program was named the Men's Career Achievement award winner and Amina Saunders of track & field was named the Women's Career Achievement winner. 

2019 WESTPY Award Winners

Mitch Gray
Dan Benson
Aren Ulmer

Men’s Rookie of the Year – Michael Zabetakis, Basketball – Lucas Mota, Golf

Michael Zabetakis, Basketball
Lucas Mota, Golf
Solomon Komen, Cross-Country

Women’s Rookie of the Year – Merica Valdez, Track & Field
Merica Valdez, Track & Field
Hanna Scarbrough, Softball
Emilee Harris, Volleyball

Comeback Athlete of the Year – Laperion Perry, Football

Laperion Perry, Football
Katie Hanson, Volleyball
Raven Smith, Softball

Women’s Community Service Outreach – Lindsye Jefferson, Softball

Lindsye Jefferson, Softball
Katie Foote, Softball
Kelsea Elrod, Softball

Men’s Community Service Outreach – Dan Benson, Golf

Dan Benson, Golf
Aren Ulmer, Basketball
Lucas Mota, Golf

Men’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year - Cade Marlowe, Baseball

Women’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year - Peyton Stallworth

Game of the Year – Football at West Florida

Football – Victory at West Florida
Men’s Golf – Victory in Mississippi
Track & Field – Victory at Berry

Women’s Athlete of the Year – Aysha Harris, Basketball

Fran Bremm, Golf
Aysha Harris, Basketball
Amina Saunders, Track & Field

Men’s Athlete of the Year – Marquill Smith – Men’s Basketball

Devontae Jackson, Football
Cade Marlowe, Baseball
Marquill Smith, Basketball

Play of the Year – Sam Jones, Men’s Golf – Logan Taylor, Baseball

Sam Jones, Men’s Golf
Logan Taylor, Baseball
Rachel Lane, Soccer

Congratulations to the UWG Cheer Program for National Titles #23 and 24!!

Men’s Strength of the Pack, Presented by Georgia Army National Guard – Korie Rogers, Football
Korie Rogers, Football
Tyler Garner, Baseball
Michael Zabetakis, Basketball

Women’s Strength of the Pack, Presented by Georgia Army National Guard – Jazmine Santiago, Soccer

Jazmine Santiago, Soccer
Shelby Brown, Tennis
Lexi Close, Softball

Women’s Career Achievement – Amina Saunders, Track & Field

Amina Saunders, Track & Field
Fran Bremm, Golf
Aysha Harris, Basketball

Men’s Career Achievement – Devontae Jackson, Football
Devontae Jackson, Football
Cade Marlowe, Baseball
Sam Jones, Golf
Miss Wolf – Fran Bremm, Golf

Fran Bremm, Golf
Katie Mitchell, Soccer
Jessica Brown, Basketball

Mr. Wolf – Cade Marlowe, Baseball

Cade Marlowe, Baseball
Willie Candler, Football
C.J. Fehribach, Baseball

Athletic Directors Award Winners (Began and ended collegiate athletic career in Carrollton)

Aares McCall - Football
K.J. Parmer, Jr. - Football
Devontae Jackson - Football
Ashton Jackson - Football
Noah Brown - Football
Austin Hamilton - Football
Quentin Stanford - Football
Tyqueze Walker - Football
Cade Marlowe - Baseball
Sam Jones - Golf
A’Kia Harris - Women’s Basketball
Aysha Harris - Women’s Basketball
Terrianna Cave - Women’s Basketball
Aren Ulmer - Men’s Basketball
Franziska Bremm - Golf
Peyton Stallworth - Softball
Rachael Lane - Soccer
Becky Brown - Soccer
Alexis Lewis - Soccer
Katie Mitchell - Soccer
Alisha Greis - Soccer
Shelby Brown - Tennis
Jamie Bryant - Tennis
Meg Cummings - Tennis
Amina Saunders – Track
Dawn McCaskill – Track
Devon Dickey – Volleyball
Katie Hanson - Volleyball